Monday, May 6, 2013

Michael Buble's To Be Loved Album Review #ToBeLoved

When it comes to music, my mom and I have pretty different 'musical palettes' if you will. She's all about the oldies and what's 'catchy' on the radio, which is perfectly fine! I'm more versitile in my musical tastes, but I tend to gravitate more towards the Indie artists.

One thing we COMPLETELY agree on is our obsession love for one Mr. Michael Buble! When she found out I was able to review his newest album, her eyes lite up like a Christmas tree.

Michael's newest album, To Be Loved, is quite the jam packed album full of a lot of diversity; it's soulful, upbeat, and a little melancholy at times. You can find lots of jazzy tones, a little rock and roll, and even some broadway, but with this talented artist, are you surprised?

To Be Loved consists of 14 soulful tracks, sung in Michael's swoon-worthy voice along with a few guest singers who might surprise you:

1. "You Make Me Feel So Young"
2. "It's a Beautiful Day"
3. "To Love Somebody"
4. "Who's Lovin You"
5. "Something Stupid" (featuring Reese Witherspoon)
6. "Come Dance with Me"
7. "Close Your Eyes"
8. "After All" (featuring Bryan Adams)
9. "Have I Told You Lately That I Love You" (with Naturally 7)
10. "To Be Loved"
11. "You've Got a Friend in Me"  
12. "Nevertheless (I'm in Love with You)" (featuring The Puppini Sisters)
13. "I Got It Easy"    
14. "Young at Heart"

I find it super sweet that Close Your Eyes is dedicated to his wife and all the other woman in his life-"I wrote Close Your Eyes about my wife and about the power of all the women in my life—my sisters, my mom, my grandma and all women in general. Let’s face it, where would we be without them? I Got It Easy, another original, is basically a song where I count my blessings and is a reminder to me and everyone to appreciate all the good parts of life. I’m a very lucky guy and I never want to forget it."

Knowing the story behind both of those songs, I think out of all the 14 tracks, they're my favorites! That doesn't mean I'm not a fan of the other 12 songs-While this CD didn't WOW me as much as I expected, Michael still awes me with his voice and the sheer soul and energy he puts into his music. The fact that he mixes his own original co-written songs with covers of songs like You've Got a Friend in Me and Have I Told You Lately gives the album even more depth!

Some people have stated that Buble should stick to the classics but I really do appreciate him branching out and expanding his musical horizons.

To Be Loved is now available on iTunes or Amazon!


Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of Michael Buble's newest album, To Be Loved, in CD form to facilitate this honest review courtesy of One2One Network. All thoughts, opinions, and words expressed in the above post are mine, and mine alone except where otherwise stated.


Colette S said...

One of my favorite singers and I can't wit to hear his new music!

Unknown said...

Sweet! I love Micheal Buble'!

Dee said...

love him!